August 9, 2007

Texas Longhorn Cuddly Plush Toys!

Posted in Texas Arts, Crafts & Gifts tagged , , , , , at 3:15 pm by Martin

I was recently corrected by a colleague at work when I showed them a photograph of one of the cuddly toys we sell at our store.

I explained that the cuddly toy was a Texas Longhorn and they immediately protested. It appears that my English roots had blinded me from the glaringly obvious fact that I had not positioned the toys “long horns” correctly at all!

The Longhorn image is synonymous with parts of Texas and a local football team’s favorite chant is “Hook ‘Em Horns!”

The mistake I had made was that the plush toy in question has flexible / positionable horns and I had bent them to completely the wrong angle. To meet the classic symbolic version of the Longhorn they have to point out to either side of the bulls head and begin with a curve upwards before straightening out and again curving upwards at the end. (See image below!)

A Real Texas Longhorn!Another Texas Longhorn BullTexas Longhorn Logo

The way I had positioned the horns was utterly out of specification. Anyway, needless to say, I will be heading up to our store this weekend to correct the administrative error and hopefully improve our cuddly longhorn toy sales!

Day Lily Cottage Longhorn PLush Toy

Leave a comment